A Serious Decision

Several weeks ago my husband and I decided that we were going to cancel our satellite tv service, mostly so we could save a little extra money each month. A secondary reason was so that we could spend more time together as a family with our two boys, who just seem to be growing up so fast!

After some thinking, I decided that there was no better time to make some other changes to our lifestyle since we would no longer be slugs in front of the tv!

A big motivation for me in getting healthy is my husband’s family history. He lost his dad to heart disease when he was a teenager. He wasn’t at my husbands high school graduation, I never got to meet him, he wasn’t at our wedding, and he will never know his grandchildren. I don’t want this to be repeated, and the way we were living was just setting the stage for things to get bad…

So Monday this week marked the start of our one week without meat (except a couple servings of fish). Our grocery trip was an eye opening one, with a lot of label reading, and I cannot believe how hard it is to find food without all types of chemicals added in. This for color, that for sweetening, this for that… And a ton of other things I couldn’t pronounce, for who knows what.

I’m glad to say that we have all enjoyed our healthy meals and snacks so far. Even my picky 7 year old ate sweet potato, mushroom, onion, and quinoa with his only complaint being it was a little spicy (guess I was a little heavy handed with the cayenne pepper!). I am shocked at how easy it has been to eat healthy meals like this and feel completely satisfied!

We will be adding meat back into our diet next week, but in moderation. I am also going to be on the hunt to find a place to buy local grass fed beef and free range chicken. I’ll make sure to post about that too 🙂

20120202-195834.jpg

Leave a Reply

