DIY Leather Cleaner/Conditioner

After I got home from work this morning I wasn’t ready to go to sleep, I don’t think I’m the only one who stays in ‘work mode’ after leaving work. So after sweeping my floors and doing dishes I saw my leather furniture in the living room was really needing some TLC. After realizing I was all out of Leather New, I did a quick search online on what I could use at home to clean and condition my couch and chairs. Turns out the miracle solution is 2 parts olive oil, 1 part vinegar, a few drops of baby wash (I used the lavender scented kind), and a little warm water. You can mix it in a spray bottle, but since I didn’t have an extra one in whisked it all together in a bowl. Then just use a cloth to buff it into the leather. I will NEVER buy leather cleaner again. I wish I had a before and after picture, we acquired our furniture from a garage sale down the street a couple years ago for $75 (I love bargains!) between the dogs and the sun, the cushions were cracking and dull. But they look 100% better after using this easy cleaner. Everything I read about caring for leather furniture suggested to clean thoroughly and condition about every 3 months.

20120217-230315.jpg

You should have seen how sad it was before!

Leave a Reply

