Best Meatless Meatball EVER (if I do say so myself)

Here’s a great recipe that I was given to try. I was a little skeptical when I read the ingredients, but they turned out amazing!

20120227-225327.jpg

Walnut Meatballs With Apricot BBQ Sauce

[Makes about 10 servings]

1 1/4 C. Cracker crumbs
3/4 C. Ground walnuts
1/2 tsp. Salt
1 Finely chopped small onion
1 1/2 tsp. Sage (I didn’t have this)
3/4 C. Grated colby cheese
2 Pressed garlic cloves
3 Tbsp. Minced parsley
4 Eggs

I used a combination of saltines and ritz crackers. I also added some paprika. I ended up using about 1/4 C. of onion. I threw everything in the food processor to mix well. Roll into walnut sized balls and put them into a casserole dish. Pour on apricot BBQ sauce before baking (covered) for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

-Apricot BBQ Sauce-

1/4 C. Oil
1/4 C. Vinegar or lemon juice
3/4 C. Apricot jam
1/2 C. Ketchup
2 Tbsp. Brown sugar
2 Tbsp. Grated onion
1/2 tsp. Salt
1/2 tsp. Oregano
Dash of hot pepper sauce (I don’t like spicy- so this didn’t get added)

Mix all ingredients in a small saucepan, bring to boil and reduce heat, mix well and pour over meatballs before baking.

20120227-232004.jpg

Took maybe 15 minutes to do everything up to putting it in the oven.
They honestly tasted like real meatballs! We had them with mashed potatoes and green beans- yum.
I wonder if they would be good with spaghetti, minus the apricot BBQ sauce of course 🙂

I know what I’m making for the next party or potluck I’m going to!

Posted in Yum

2 thoughts on “Best Meatless Meatball EVER (if I do say so myself)

    • My younger one is just now eating cereals, so he wasn’t part of the test panel 🙂 but my 7 year old had no clue until I told him! His only complaint was the sauce was a little sweet (he’s used to dark, rich BBQ sauces).
      I honestly wouldn’t know they weren’t meat if I hadn’t been the one to make them. If you try it let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

